St. Paul Lutheran School Celebrates Double Honor with 2024 Herb Kohl Teacher Fellowship Awards

Grafton, WI—St. Paul Lutheran School is proud to announce that two of its dedicated educators, third grade teacher Mrs. Jenny Clemens and seventh grade teacher Mrs. Joy Yurk, have been named 2024 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Teacher Fellows. This award recognizes 100 teachers across the state of Wisconsin for their exemplary leadership, passionate service, and their inspirational role in both the classroom and the community.

"Herb Kohl believed that education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation," JoAnne Anton, President & CEO of Herb Kohl Philanthropies said. "That's why he invested in and prioritized awards that recognize students, teachers, and principals who demonstrate incredible hard work, achievements, and service. We hope this year's awards help this impressive group of recipients in their individual pursuits today so that they pay it forward in the future. We call that the Herb Kohl Way."

Mrs. Clemens and Mrs. Yurk embody these principles through their commitment to igniting a love of learning and the profound motivation they instill in their students. Their dedication encourages students to strive for excellence and to become lifelong learners. The fellowship, which includes a \$6,000 award, recognizes their leadership and service in and outside the classroom, their ability to inspire a love of learning and to motivate their students.

The entire St. Paul Lutheran School community extends congratulations to both Mrs. Clemens and Mrs. Yurk. We are deeply grateful for their unwavering dedication in their vocation but also serve as beacons of faith and guidance while embodying our mission of being "Focused on Excellence and Centered in Christ."

Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders and representatives of education-related associations and the program's co-sponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, and the Wisconsin Homeschooling Parents Association. The Kohl Foundation award program was established by Herb Kohl, former U.S. senator, philanthropist, and businessman who died December 27, 2023. Since 1990, the foundation has awarded nearly \$38 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.